Patrick's SharePoint Blog

SharePoint's Booming world

Your search cannot be completed because this site is not assigned to an indexer

Posted by Patrick Boom on April 29, 2010

I encountered this error when I set up my fresh SharePoint 2010 farm and created the site collection before completing the configuration of the search service.

I checked all my settings, but the search service was up and running and presented no errors. Still, I was not able to fire a query from code, as this exception kept popping up. After doing a search on internet, I found that the problem was not with the search service, but with the content database settings. Strange place I would say. It appears though that each content database is assigned its own indexer and because the search service was turned on after the content database had been created, no indexer was assigned to the content database.

So, to correct this problem, open Central Admin, go to Manage Content Databases, select your content database and select the appropiate indexer in the properties page. Once done, the problem was gone.

Easy enough right?

10 Responses to “Your search cannot be completed because this site is not assigned to an indexer”

  1. Nik Patel said

    strange error but makes sense.. thanks..

  2. W0ut said

    fyi. I had the same error but it was caused by using the wrong dlls in a custom web part I was building with Visual Studio

    For more info:
    http://lawo.wordpress.com/2010/07/24/error-this-site-is-not-assigned-to-an-indexer/

  3. Bryan Luce said

    Had the same issue. Thanks for the post.

  4. Nancy said

    I do believe all of the concepts you have introduced to your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for newbies. May just you please prolong them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  5. Thanks Patrick! Very brief and useful information.

  6. blog sites said

    Good write-up. I absolutely love this site.
    Thanks!

  7. I was recommended this blog via my cousin. I am not sure whether this submit is written through him as
    no one else realize such targeted approximately my difficulty.

    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
